Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football
Season Preview

2011 MWC Preseason All-Conference Football Team Announced

Mountain West Conference Press Release
July 26, 2011

LAS VEGAS - The 2011 Preseason all-Mountain West Team was announced today at the league's annual Football Media Days being held at the Red Rock Resort in Las Vegas. The team, as selected by members of the media, features 11 players that were all-Conference selections in 2010, including seven first-team honorees. Twenty seniors, three sophomores and two juniors comprise the 25-member squad.

Boise State senior quarterback Kellen Moore was named Preseason MW Offensive Player of the Year, while TCU senior linebacker Tank Carder was selected Defensive Player of the Year and Air Force senior kick returner Jonathan Warzeka was tabbed Special Teams Player of the Year.

A senior from Prosser, Wash., Moore enters 2011 as the nation's active career leader in passing efficiency (166.74) and wins by a quarterback (38), while ranking second on the active career list in completion percentage (68.17), passing yards (10,867), passing touchdowns (99) and completions (831). Last season, Moore completed 273-of-383 passes for 3,845 yards, 35 touchdowns and six interceptions for a national-best pass efficiency of 182.63.

A senior hailing from Sweeny, Texas, Carder posted 60 tackles (37 solo) last year, including 9.5 for loss (-31 yards). He totaled 3.5 sacks (-20 yards), five pass breakups and an interception for TCU en route to being named the 2010 MW Defensive Player of the Year.

Warzeka led the league in kickoff returns (28.7), while ranking fifth in the Conference in all-purpose yards with 103.8 per game. A native of Lake Elsinore, Calif., Warzeka is one of only three Mountain West players ever with two kickoff return touchdowns in his career (vs. Houston in 2009 Armed Forces Bowl and vs. Colorado State in 2010).

2011 Preseason All-Mountain West Football Team:

QB Kellen Moore Sr. Boise State
WR Phillip Payne Sr. UNLV
WR Josh Boyce So. TCU
RB Ronnie Hillman* So. San Diego State
RB Doug Martin Sr. Boise State
OL Nate Potter Sr. Boise State
OL A.J. Wallerstein** Sr. Air Force
OL Kyle Dooley Sr. TCU
OL Thomas Byrd Sr. Boise State
OL Paul Madsen** Sr. Colorado State
TE Lucas Reed* Jr. New Mexico
DL Billy Winn Sr. Boise State
DL Shea McClellin Sr. Boise State
DL Stansly Maponga** So. TCU
DL Josh Biezuns** Sr. Wyoming
LB Tank Carder#* Sr. TCU
LB Mychal Sisson** Sr. Colorado State
LB Miles Burris* Sr. San Diego State
DB George Iloka Sr. Boise State
DB Leon McFadden* Jr. San Diego State
DB Anthony Wright Sr. Air Force
DB Jon Davis Sr. Air Force
P Brian Stahovich* Sr. San Diego State
PK James Aho Sr. New Mexico
Ret. Jonathan Warzeka Sr. Air Force
Offensive Player of the Year:
Kellen Moore, Sr., QB, Boise State
Defensive Player of the Year:
Tank Carder, Sr., LB, TCU
Special Teams Player of the Year:
Tank Carder, Sr., LB, TCU
# - unanimous 2011 preseason selection.
* - member of the 2010 All-Mountain West Conference first-team.
** - member of the 2010 All-Mountain West Conference second-team.


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"