Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football
Season Preview

2008 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team Announced

Big 12 Conference Press Release
July 17, 2008

Chase Daniel (Missouri) was named Preseason Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, Auston English (Oklahoma) was selected Preseason Defensive Player of the Year and Darrell Scott (Colorado) was chosen Preseason Newcomer of the Year in a Big 12 Conference media poll.

Daniel was the 2007 Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year and Big 12 male Athlete of the Year as a junior. He was also a finalist for the O'Brien, Walter Camp and Manning awards and was named Second Team All-America by the Associated Press, Walter Camp and Sporting News. The 6-0, 225 quarterback finished fourth in the Heisman Trophy balloting while throwing for a MU-record 4,306 yards and 33 touchdowns. Daniel finished the 2007 season seventh in the nation in total offense (325.6 ypg) and 15th in pass efficiency (147.89).

English was named an All-Big 12 First Team selection last season for his sophomore campaign. The 6-3, 257 defensive end led the Big 12 and ranked 15th nationally with 9.5 sacks in 2007 despite missing three games due to injury. He totaled 36 tackles with 13 for a loss of 83 yards and had five quarterback hurries. In addition English broke up three passes.

Scott, a 6-2, 215 freshman tailback earned All-America honors from Parade, Prep Star (Dream Team), SuperPrep and USA Today as a high school senior. He was a three-time All-Conference first team performer and garnered All-State honors his junior and senior seasons. Scott rushed for 2,433 yards and 33 touchdowns as a senior while leading St. Bonaventure High School to the state championship.

2008 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team (Media Vote)

Offensive Player of the Year: Chase Daniel, Missouri (QB, 6-0, 225, Sr/3L, Southlake, Texas)

Defensive Player of the Year: Auston English, Oklahoma (DE, 6-3, 257, Jr/1L, Canadian, Texas)

Newcomer of the Year: Darrell Scott, Colorado (TB, 6-2, 215, Fr/HS, Ventura, Calif.)

Pos Name School Ht Wt Cl/Exp Hometown
WR Michael Crabtree! Texas Tech 6-3 206 So/1L Dallas, Texas
TE Chase Coffman Missouri 6-6 245 Sr/3L Peculiar, Mo.
OL Duke Robinson Oklahoma 6-5 330 Sr/3L Atlanta, Ga.
OL Phil Loadholt Oklahoma 6-8 350 Sr/1L Fountain, Colo.
C Jon Cooper Oklahoma 6-2 285 Sr/3L Fort Collins, Colo.
OL Louis Vasquez Texas Tech 6-6 335 Sr/3L Corsicana, Texas
OL Colin Brown Missouri 6-8 325 Sr/3L Braymer, Mo.
OL Cedric Dockery Texas 6-4 315 Sr/3L Garland, Texas
WR Jeremy Maclin Missouri 6-1 200 So/1L Kirkwood, Mo.
QB Chase Daniel Missouri 6-0 225 Sr/3L Southlake, Texas
RB Marlon Lucky Nebraska 6-0 215 Sr/3L North Hollywood, Calif.
RB DeMarco Murray Oklahoma 6-0 191 So/1L Las Vegas, Nev.
PK Jeff Wolfert Missouri 6-2 185 Sr/2L Overland Park, Kan.
KR Marcus Herford Kansas 6-3 208 Sr/3L DeSoto, Texas
DL Auston English Oklahoma 6-3 257 Jr/1L Canadian, Texas
DL Ian Campbell Kansas State 6-5 249 Sr/3L Cimarron, Kan.
DL George Hypolite Colorado 6-1 285 Sr/3L Los Angeles, Calif.
DL Brian Orakpo Texas 6-4 260 Sr/3L Houston, Texas
LB Sean Weatherspoon Missouri 6-1 235 Jr/2L Jasper, Texas
LB Joe Mortenson Kansas 6-1 250 Sr/3L Concord, Calif.
LB Joe Pawelek Baylor 6-3 236 Jr/2L San Antonio, Texas
DB Nic Harris Oklahoma 6-3 226 Sr/3L Alexandria, La.
DB William Moore Missouri 6-1 230 Sr/3L Hayti, Mo.
DB Jamar Wall Texas Tech 5-10 196 Jr/2L Plainview, Texas
DB Jordan Lake Baylor 6-2 206 Jr/2L Houston, Texas
P Justin Brantly Texas A&M 6-3 241 Sr/3L Sealy, Texas
PR Jeremy Maclin Missouri 6-1 200 So/1L Kirkwood, Mo.

! Denotes unanimous choice.
An extra offensive lineman was honored due to ties in the voting.


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"