Home Top 128 Season Preview Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Bowls History Teams News Message Board More...

College Football
Season Preview

2007 C-USA Football Coaches Preseason Awards

CUSA Press Release
July 24, 2007

Junior wide receiver Jarett Dillard of Rice was chosen as the league's preseason Offensive Player of the Year after establishing Rice single-season receiving records last season. Dillard caught 91 passed for 1,274 yards and 21 touchdowns in 2006. The 21 TD catches also set a C-USA record and he enters the 2007 season with an overall streak of 15 consecutive games with a TD catch, just three off the record of 18.

Reigning C-USA Defensive Player of the Year Albert McClellan of Marshall was picked as the preseason favorite to repeat as the conference's top defensive player. He led C-USA in sacks (11) and tackles for loss (19), while registering 77 total tackles in 2006.

UCF cornerback Joe Burnett was tabbed as preseason Special Teams Player of the Year. Burnett had 11 punt returns for 132 yards, good for a 12.0 per return average and was named first team punt returner by the C-USA coaches in 2006.

Pos. Name School Class.
QB Paul Smith Tulsa Sr.
RB Damion Fletcher Southern Miss So.
RB Kevin Smith UCF Jr.
OL Doug Legursky Marshall Sr.
OL Jeff Akeroyd Houston Sr.
OL Chris Clark Southern Miss Sr.
OL Brandon Pearce Memphis Jr.
OL Robby Heos Rice Sr.
WR Jarrett Dillard Rice Jr.
WR Emmanuel Sanders SMU So.
WR Donnie Avery Houston Sr.
TE Shawn Nelson Southern Miss Jr.
DL Albert McClellan Marshall Jr.
DL Martavius Prince Southern Miss Sr.
DL Marcus Hands East Carolina Jr.
DL Philip Hunt Houston Jr.
LB Joe Henderson UAB Jr.
LB Brian Raines Rice Jr.
LB Nelson Coleman Tulsa Sr.
DB Quintin Demps UTEP Sr.
DB Brandon Sumrall Southern Miss Sr.
DB Will Dunbar UAB Sr.
DB Kenneth Fontenette Houston Jr.
Special Teams
K Ben Bell Houston Jr.
P Thomas Morstead SMU Jr.
KR Chris Johnson East Carolina Sr.
PR Joe Burnett UCF Jr.
Offensive Player Of The Year
WR Jarett Dillard Rice Jr.
Defensive Player Of The Year
DE Albert McClellan Marshall Jr.
Special Teams Player Of The Year
PR Joe Burnett UCF Jr.


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"