Home Top 128 Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds PreGame PostGame Standings Bowls History Teams Links News Forum Season Preview More...

College Football Season
Coaching Changes

Also See:
| 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 |
| 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 |
| 2015 |

June Jones Retires After Second Game Of 2014 Season

20 teams began the 2014 season with a new man at the top.

CFP Staff
September 9, 2014

June Jones announced on Monday that he was resigning as the head coach of SMU, effective immediately, due to "personal issues". The Mustangs have started 0-2 with losses of 45-0 at Baylor and 43-6 at North Texas. Jones was 36-43 in just over 6 seasons at SMU, won a Conference USA divisional title and tied for another, and took the Mustangs to four bowl games.

Coaching Changes For 2015 Season
Team Out In
SMU June Jones (0-2) (i)-Tom Mason
(i) - Interim head coach regular season

Defensive coordinator Tom Mason given the interim had coaching duties, while QB coach Dan Morrison and WR coach Jason Phillips were named co-offensive coordinators.

Jones began his stint with SMU on January 7, 2008 when he opted to leave behind the island paradise of Hawaii and the program he built into a perennial winner. The failure of the school to improve facilities ultimately contributed greatly to Jones' departure.

In the five years prior to taking over the Warriors in 1999, the team had won just twelve games in five seasons and was winless in 1998. Jones guided Hawaii to a 9-4 record in his first season.

Jones quickly worked some of that same magic with SMU. After a 1-11 inaugural campaign, he guided SMU to an 8-5 mark in 2009 and the first of four straight bowl games. But Jones never could get SMU to the next level. While the Mustangs won 3 of the 4 bowl games, they came up short in their only Conference USA championship game appearance.


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"