Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football
Eddie RobinsonAward

| 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 |
| 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 |
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 |


The College Football Coach of the Year Award is named in honor of Edde Robinson.

The FWAA has honored a major-college coach with its Coach of the Year Award since 1957. In 1997, the FWAA coaching award was named after Robinson, the coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 years. The late "Coach Rob" won 408 games.

Robinson, who passed away on April 3, 2007, won 70.7 percent of his games during his illustrious career. Robinson's teams won or tied for 17 Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) championships after joining the league in 1959. His Tigers claimed nine Black College Football Championships during his career spent all at the same school.

Robinson was named by the FWAA in 1966 as "The Coach Who Made the Biggest Contribution to College Football in the Past 25 Years." He often took his show on the road to places such as the Louisiana Superdome, the Cotton Bowl, the Astrodome, Tiger Stadium and Yankee Stadium. And, with his star-studded array of players, Robinson helped integrate professional football.

In 1975, with one of his greatest teams quarterbacked by eventual All-Pro Doug Williams, Robinson's Grambling team and Alcorn State became the first college teams to play a game in the Louisiana Superdome. The next season, Robinson's Tigers, along with Morgan State, became the first American college football teams to play in Japan.

In 1949, Grambling standout Tank Younger was the first player from a Historically Black College to sign with an NFL team (Los Angeles Rams). By 1963, Buck Buchanan became the first player from a Historically Black College to be selected first overall in the professional draft (American Football League by the Kansas City Chiefs). Over the years, Robinson produced more than 200 players who wound up on professional rosters.

A member of the College Football Hall of Fame, Robinson has the keys to cities all over the planet, has been awarded in every form and fashion and has honorary degrees from many schools. In 2010, the Eddie Robinson Museum was opened in his honor in Grambling, La., where numerous memorabilia now reside, including a bust of the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

*'s Dave Congrove is a member of the voting panel.

2015 - Kirk Ferentz, Iowa
2014 - Gary Patterson, TCU
2013 - Gus Malzahn, Auburn
2012 - Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
2011 - Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
2010 - Chip Kelly, Oregon
2009 - Gary Patterson, TCU
2008 - Nick Saban, Alabama
2007 - Mark Mangino, Kansas
2006 - Greg Schiano, Rutgers
2005 - Charlie Weis, Notre Dame
2004 - Urban Meyer, Utah
2003 - Nick Saban, LSU
2002 - Jim Tressel, Ohio State
2001 - Ralph Friedgen, Maryland
2000 - Bob Stoops, Oklahoma
1999 - Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech
1998 - Phillip Fulmer, Tennessee
1997 - Mike Price, Washington State

1996 Bruce Snyder, Arizona State
1995 Gary Barnett, Northwestern
1994 Rich Brooks, Oregon
1993 Terry Bowden, Auburn
1992 Gene Stallings, Alabama
1991 Don James, Washington
1990 Bobby Ross, Georgia Tech
1989 Bill McCartney, Colorado
1988 Lou Holtz, Notre Dame
1987 Dick MacPherson, Syracuse
1986 Joe Paterno, Penn State
1985 Fisher DeBerry, Air Force
1984 LaVell Edwards, BYU
1983 Howard Schnellenberger, Miami
1982 Joe Paterno, Penn State
1981 Danny Ford, Clemson
1980 Vince Dooley, Georgia
1979 Earle Bruce, Ohio State
1978 Joe Paterno, Penn State
1977 Lou Holtz, Arkansas
1976 Johnny Majors, Pittsburgh
1975 Woody Hayes, Ohio State
1974 Grant Teaff, Baylor
1973 Johnny Majors, Pittsburgh
1972 John McKay, USC
1971 Bob Devaney, Nebraska
1970 Alex Agase, Northwestern
1969 Bo Schembechler, Michigan
1968 Woody Hayes, Ohio State
1967 John Pont, Indiana
1966 Tom Cahill, Army
1965 Duffy Daugherty, Michigan State
1964 Ara Parseghian, Notre Dame
1963 Darrell Royal, Texas
1962 John McKay, USC
1961 Darrell Royal, Texas
1960 Murray Warmath, Minnesota
1959 Ben Schwartzwalder, Syracuse
1958 Paul Dietzel, LSU
1957 Woody Hayes, Ohio State


is a proud
"Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties"