Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football Season

| 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 |
| 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 |
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 |

Robert Griffin III Wins Heisman Trophy;
Andrew Luck Takes Maxwell and Walter Camp Top Player Awards and CFP Staff
December 10, 2011 (Updated 1/9/12)

(CFP) -- Robert Griffin III of Baylor was selected as the 77th winner of the Heisman Memorial Trophy as the most outstanding college football player in 2011. The quarterback becomes the first player from Baylor ever to win the coveted hardware, outpointing QB Andrew Luck of Stanford 1,687 points to 1,407.

Luck also finished second last year, behind Auburn QB Cameron Newton.

Here's a look at each of this year's Heisman finalists, in their order of finish:

1) Robert Griffin III, junior, QB, Baylor - "RG3" also won the Davey O'Brien Award for top college quarterback over fellow Heisman finalist Andrew Luck. He ranked second in the nation in total offense with 387 yards per game. This season he threw 36 touchdowns and passed for 3,998 yards. Griffin and former Heisman Trophy winner Tim Tebow are two of four players in major college history with at least 9,000 yards passing and 2,000 yards rushing in a career.

2) Andrew Luck, senior, QB, Stanford - Luck passed for 3,170 yards and 35 touchdowns this season. Luck led the Pac-12 in passing efficiency with 167.5 and broke Stanford's records for career touchdown passes and single-season touchdown passes. He won the Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards for best player, and won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award for top senior QB.

3) Trent Richardson, junior, RB, Alabama - Rushed for 1,583 yards and had 20 touchdowns this season with nine 100-yard games. Richardson won the Doak Walker Award for top running back over Heisman finalist Montee Ball.

4) Montee Ball, junior, RB, Wisconsin - Leads the nation with 1,759 rushing yards and 38 total touchdowns (32 rushing). It's the second-most ever behind Barry Sanders who is credited by the NCAA with 39, but who had actually had 44 after scoring 5 more TD's in 3 quarters of the 1988 Holiday Bowl (bowl stats were not counted in NCAA statistics prior to 2002).

5) Tyrann Mathieu, sophomore, CB, LSU - Had 71 tackles, 5 forced fumbles and 2 interceptions on defense, but he also gained 420 yards and 2 touchdowns in punt returns during LSU's 13-0 season. Mathieu was bidding to become the second cornerback to ever be inducted into this group of outstanding college football players, joining Charles Woodson (1997). Won the Chuck Bednarik Award for best defensive player.

Robert Griffin, III Jr. Baylor QB 405 168 136 1,687
Andrew Luck Sr. Stanford QB 247 250 166 1,407
Trent Richardson Jr. Alabama RB 138 207 150 978
Montee Ball Jr. Wisconsin RB 22 83 116 348
Tyrann Mathieu So. LSU CB 34 63 99 327
Matt Barkley Jr. USC QB 11 33 54 153
Case Keenum Sr. Houston QB 10 20 53 123
Kellen Moore Sr. Boise State QB 6 21 30 90
Russell Wilson Sr. Wisconsin QB 4 12 16 52
LaMichael James Sr. Oregon RB 5 12 9 48

The Heisman Trophy is awarded annually to the best college football player in America. It is named after John W. Heisman, noted collegiate player and coach, and recognized as the inventor of the forward pass. The award is voted by hundreds of sports journalists around the country and past Heisman Trophy recipients. Each voter gets to submit a ballot that ranks their top three players. Points are tallied by awarding 3 points for each first-place vote, two points for second, and one point for third.'s Dave Congrove is a:
- member of the Football Writers Association of America
- voting member of the Vince Lombardi Award
- voting member for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award
- nominating member for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy
- nominating member for the Outland Trophy
- nominating member for the 25-player FWAA All-America Team

See: All-Time Heisman List


AP Coach Of the Year: Les Miles, LSU

Home Depot Coach Of the Year: Les Miles, LSU

AP Player Of the Year: Robert Griffin III, QB, Baylor

Eddie Robinson Coach Of the Year: Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
See: All-Time Eddie Robinson Award Winners

NOTE: Voters at had the opportunity to vote for Dave Congrove's selection and the results of that voting were as follows:
T-1) Les Miles, LSU, 23.1%
T-1) Bill Snyder, Kansas State, 23.1%
T-3) Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State, 22.4%
T-3) Brady Hoke, Michigan, 22.4%
5) Dabo Swinney, Clemson, 9.0%

Frank Broyles Award (Assistant Coach): John Chavis, LSU, Defensive Coordinator
See: All-Time Frank Broyles Award Winners

Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player): Tyrann Mathieu, LSU, CB, Sophomore
See: All-Time Chuck Bednarik Award Winners

Fred Biletnikoff Award (receiver): Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State, Junior
See: All-Time Fred Biletnikoff Award Winners

Dick Butkus Award (linebacker): Luke Kuechly, Boston College, Junior
See: All-Time Butkus Award Winners

Walter Camp Award (top player): Andrew Luck, Stanford (QB), Sr.
See: All-Time Walter Camp POY Winners

Lou Groza Award (placekicker): Randy Bullock, Texas A&M Senior
See: All-Time Lou Groza Award Winners

Ray Guy Award (punter): Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech, Junior
See: All-Time Ray Guy Award Winners

Paul Hornung Award (Versatile Player): Brandon Boykin, CB, ST, WR, RB, QB, Georgia
See: All-Time Paul Hornung Award Winners

Vince Lombardi Award (lineman or linebacker): Luke Kuechly, Boston College, LB, Junior
See: All-Time Vince Lombardi Award Winners

John Mackey Award (tight end): Dwayne Allen, Clemson, Junior
See: All-Time John Mackey Award Winners

Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award (top player): Andrew Luck, Stanford, QB, Senior
See: All-Time Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award Winners

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player): Luke Kuechly, Boston College, LB, Junior
See: All-Time Bronko Nagurski Trophy Winners

Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback): Robert Griffin III, Baylor, Junior
See: All-Time Davey O'Brien Award Winners

Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Barrett Jones, Alabama, OT, Junior
See: All-Time Outland Trophy Winners

Dave Rimington Trophy (center): David Molk, Michigan, Sr.
See: All-Time Dave Rimington Award Winners

Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back): Morris Claiborne, LSU, CB, Junior
See: All-Time Jim Thorpe Award Winners

Johnny Unitas Award (senior quarterback): Andrew Luck, Stanford
See: All-Time Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Winners

Doak Walker Award (running back): Trent Richardson, Alabama, Junior
See: All-Time Doak Walker Award Winners


is a proud
"Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties"