Home Top 128 Rankings/Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds Standings Tickets Teams Bowls News Forum Season Preview History More...

College Football Season

| 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 |
| 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 |
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 |

Tim Tebow Wins Heisman Trophy; Becomes First Underclassman To Do So

CFP Staff
December 8, 2007

NEW YORK (CFP) -- Florida sophomore QB Tim Tebow was awarded the 73rd annual Heisman Trophy award at a ceremony in New York on Saturday night, becoming the first underclassman to do so.

Tebow out-pointed Arkansas RB Darren McFadden who was the runner-up for the second straight year. Hawaii QB Colt Brennan finished in 3rd place and Missouri QB Chase Daniel came in 4th.

Brennan's finish is the highest for a non-BCS conference player since Steve McNair also came in 3rd in 1994. Brennan was also the only senior among the four 2007 finalists.

Here is a capsule review of the spectacular seasons produced by each of the top four finishers:

1) Tim Tebow, Sophomore, QB, Florida - The first sophomore to ever win the award completed 235-of-343 passes for 3,393 yards with 31 TD's and 7 INT's. He also ran for 838 yards and 22 TD's.

2) Darren McFadden, Junior, RB, Arkansas - McFadden rushed 304 times for 1,725 yards in 2007. He averaged 5.7 yards per carry and tallied 15 TD's. He also threw 4 TD passes on just 11 attempts. McFadden had 1,647 yards and 14 TD's last season when he also finished second in voting. He had 1,113 yards and 11 TD's as a freshman.

3) Colt Brennan, Senior, QB, Hawaii - Completed 337-of-472 passes (71.4%) for 4,174 yards with 38 TD's and 14 INT's. He added 8 TD's rushing. Missed one game entirely, threw just two passes in another, and saw limited action in a third game. Holds the career NCAA records for most touchdown passes thrown (131), and most TD's accounted for (146). Led Hawaii to first unbeaten season in history this year (12-0) and a berth in the BCS Sugar Bowl vs. Georgia. Brennan finished 6th in last year's balloting.

4) Chase Daniel, Junior, QB, Missouri - Completed 372-of-534 (69.7%) for 4,170 yards with 33 TD's and 10 INT's. He also had 284 yards and 4 TD's rushing. Led Missouri to the Big 12 Championship game where the team lost to Oklahoma for the second time this season to finish 11-2. The Tigers did not receive a BCS bid and, instead, will face Arkansas and fellow Heisman candidate Darren McFadden in the Cotton Bowl.

The Heisman Trophy is awarded annually to the best college football player in America, It is named after John W. Heisman, noted collegiate player and coach, and recognized as the inventor of the forward pass. The award is voted annually by hundreds of sports journalists around the country and past Heisman Trophy recipients. Each voter gets to submit a ballot that ranks their top three players. Points are tallied by awarding 3 points for each first-place vote, two points for second, and one point for third.

Tim Tebow So. Florida QB 462 229 113 1,957
Darren McFadden Jr. Arkansas RB 291 355 120 1,703
Colt Brennan Sr. Hawaii QB 54 114 242 632
Chase Daniel Jr. Missouri QB 25 84 182 425
Dennis Dixon Sr. Oregon QB 17 31 65 178
Pat White Jr. West Virginia QB 16 28 46 150
Matt Ryan Sr. Boston College QB 9 7 22 63
Kevin Smith Jr. UCF RB 3 11 24 55
Glenn Dorsey Sr. LSU DT 3 6 9 30
Chris Long Sr. Virginia DE 1 2 10 17

Also See: All-Time Heisman List



AP Coach Of the Year: Mark Mangino, Kansas

Home Depot Coach Of the Year: Mark Mangino, Kansas

AP Player Of the Year: Tim Tebow, QB, Florida

Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player): Dan Connor, LB, Penn State
See: All-Time Chuck Bednarik Award Winners

Fred Biletnikoff Award (receiver): Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech
See: All-Time Fred Biletnikoff Award Winners

Dick Butkus Award (linebacker): James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
See: All-Time Butkus Award Winners

Walter Camp Award (top player): Darren McFadden, RB, Arkansas
See: All-Time Walter Camp POY Winners

Lou Groza Award (placekicker): Thomas Weber, Arizona State
See: All-Time Lou Groza Award Winners

Ray Guy Award (punter): Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech
See: All-Time Ray Guy Award Winners

Vince Lombardi Award (lineman or linebacker): Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU
See: All-Time Vince Lombardi Award Winners

John Mackey Award (tight end): Fred Davis, USC
See: All-Time John Mackey Award Winners

Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award (top player): Tim Tebow, QB, Florida
See: All-Time Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award Winners

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player): Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU
See: All-Time Bronko Nagurski Trophy Winners

Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback): Tim Tebow, Florida
See: All-Time Davey O'Brien Award Winners

Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Glenn Dorsey, LSU
See: All-Time Outland Trophy Winners

Dave Rimington Trophy (center): Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas
See: All-Time Dave Rimington Award Winners

Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back): Antoine Cason, Arizona
See: All-Time Jim Thorpe Award Winners

Johnny Unitas Award (senior quarterback): Matt Ryan, Boston College
See: All-Time Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Winners

Doak Walker Award (running back): Darren McFadden, Arkansas
All-Time Doak Walker Award Winners


is a proud
"Partner of USATODAY College Sports"