Home Top 125 Polls Picks/Scores Feature Picks Odds PreGame PostGame Standings Bowls History Teams Links News Forum Season Preview More...

College Football Season

| 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 |
| 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 |
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013 |

Dayne Wins Heisman Trophy

by CFP Staff

He isn't built like a marathon runner, but Ron Dayne has run all the way from Madison, Wisconsin to New York where he garnered college football's top individual prize, the Heisman Trophy. It was a landslide victory, too.

Dayne surpassed Ricky Williams as the NCAA all-time career rushing yardage leader with 6,397 yards. Williams had just broken Tony Dorsett's 22-year-old mark last year.

Dayne received 586 first-place votes in the Heisman balloting to easily outdistance a field of worthy contenders.


Ron Dayne Wisconsin RB 2,042
Joe Hamilton Georgia Tech QB 994
Michael Vick Virginia Tech QB 319
Drew Brees Purdue QB 308
Chad Pennington Marshall QB 247

Also See: All-Time Heisman List


Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player):
LaVar Arrington, Penn State
See: All-Time Chuck Bednarik Award Winners

Fred Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver): Troy Walters, Stanford
See: All-Time Fred Biletnikoff Award Winners

Dick Butkus Award (linebacker): LaVar Arrington, Penn State
See: All-Time Dick Butkus Award-Winners

Walter Camp Award (top player): Ron Dayne, Wisconsin, RB
See: All-Time Walter Camp POY Winners

Lou Groza Award (kicker): Sebastian Janikowski, Florida State
See: All-Time Lou Groza Award Winners

Vince Lombardi Award (lineman or linebacker): Corey Moore, Virginia Tech
See: All-Time Lombardi Award Winners

Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell Award (top player): Ron Dayne, Wisconsin
See: All-Time Maxwell Award Winners

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player): Corey Moore, Virginia Tech
See: All-Time Bronko Nagurski Trophy Winners

Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback): Joe Hamilton, Georgia Tech
See: All-Time Davey O'Brien Award Winners

Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Chris Samuels, Alabama
See: All-Time Outland Trophy Winners

Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back): Tyrone Carter, Minnesota
See: All-Time Jim Thorpe Award Winners

Johnny Unitas Award (senior quarterback): Chris Redman, Louisville
See: All-Time Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Winners

Doak Walker Award (running back): Ron Dayne, Wisconsin
See: All-Time Doak Walker Award Winners

Walter Camp Coach of the Year: Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech